Dressing for Europe: Lose the athletic sneakers and plan outfits

When walking in Europe, I trade my American athletic running shoes for the more discreet Cole Haan walking shoes.


Or the Repetto “sneakers”.


I try not to look like a tourist which gives me some security (less prey to thieves).

Also, after exercise, I try to remember that most Europeans are more formal than we are in Southern California. So after exercising in a tank t-shirt (My fantastic 5 euro cotton from H&M, 


I put on a nylon jacket (I keep my Valentino that I bought from the consignment store Clothes Heaven) that I keep in my car and tie on a scarf. There, in a few seconds, I’m presentable!

Then, at home, after showering, I change into a lightweight silk and cotton dress by Jil Sander and a pair of Prada sneakers (both the dress and the shoes were found at the Pasadena consignment store Clothes Heaven where I save money buying designer clothes secondhand (used, formerly owned).

2 thoughts on “Dressing for Europe: Lose the athletic sneakers and plan outfits

  1. You had me at Cole-Haan. About ten years ago, I purchased a pair of Cole-Haan Air Nike Ballet flats that ended up to be my favorite walking shoes when doing heavy walking and perfecting my skills as a flaneuse in the streets of Paris. I’ve also worn these shoes in the South of France on many, many visits! I also change the look up with my Repetto ballet flats–but wear them mostly in the evening. I see you share the same love of shoes that I do.
    Are you familiar with Rondini sandals? I’ve been wearing them for years and when we are in St. Tropez, I always treat myself to a pair. If you take a look-see at my latest blog post you will see the sandals I’m writing about. BTW, your Repetto sneakers rock! Best, Cathe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

